Busy, busy.

June 26, 2008

Things here have been busy lately. First, Stitch n’ Pitch:

The game was okay. Most of the people I recognized from Ravelry were on the far end of the section from me, so no real socializing. Just ooing and trying to peek at what everyone was working on without appearing obnoxiously nosy. And the goody bags. Free loot! Mostly Shawn watched the game and I got the cuff done on my first Nutkin (anklet sized), which is now done:

My goal for Summer of Socks is one sock a week, so I’m ahead of schedule. Yay!

Then there was Convergence. There were three knitting-focused booths, and even if one of those was a little under half weaving yarn. But still, for fiber addicts, a mecca. For those who like taking pictures of fiber, not so much. I was asked to turn off my camera shortly after being there — I guess there was something in the packet of information for non-day goers that specified no photography. But I did get a few pictures, including one this lovely fiber:

I was alone and not feeling well, so that made it less fun, but I did pick up goodies.

Some Soak:

And this neat Kumihimo (Japanese braiding) loom/kit:

And my best deal of the day, 6,300 yards of a light fingering weight cotton (6/2 in weaving terms) — a mill end from Webs, and under $20, in my favorite green:

I also got some J-Knits sock yarn and some Araucania Ulmo (cotton) Multy from Knit ‘n Knibble’s booth, and some gorgeous superwash/bamboo sock yarn from FiberLady. I really, really wanted to get something from Knitting Notions — they had some amazing stuff, but I was so overwhelmed by all the gorgeousness I couldn’t pick anything (well, other than really wanting a swift that I couldn’t afford and have no where to store). I came back three times, and still… overwhelmed, so since I knew they had an online store, I figured I’d put them on the top of my mental list (and knitting store bookmarks) for when I am ready to buy a swift, and the next time I have a yarn need they can fill.

Other than that, my Ribs and Lace tank is hibernating until the end of SoS, but it’s getting close to done. All that’s left is lots and lots of ribbing (and shaping). Shawn’s socks are very close to halfway done, but those are hibernating, too.

As a side note on Foody Friday, I haven’t been baking. First when the summer semester started I was just overwhelmed, and then I found out that I’m likely gluten intolerant (plus lactose intolerant and fructose malaborbant until my body heals from the gluten/autoimmune damage), so I’ve been eating gluten free since the 7th. Which means I’m going to have to learn a whole new way of baking (and buy all new supplies), which is probably a ways off (GF crap is expensive). For a silver lining I am seeing improvement already (hair not coming out by the literal fistful = very, very good), so I’m not minding it so much. Less time baking = more time knitting, and for now, that works for me.

One of these days I’ll have a real, live FO to share. Really.

2 Responses to “Busy, busy.”

  1. Shawn Says:

    So who won the game? HMM??

  2. ambertides Says:

    Who cares? 😀


Leave a Reply

