Of buying stuffs.

April 4, 2008

I’m still spending too much on knitting, but my weakness has been tools, not yarn.

It all started with needing a needle. But Jo-Ann’s didn’t have it. And I didn’t want to drive all over town looking for it, or send Shawn to do the same. So I bought needles on eBay. They’re cheap, and they won’t last forever, I’m sure, but they are serviceable, which is what I really wanted. I can replace them slowly with needles that wow me. And did I mention they were cheap? 19 circular needles and 6 sets of 4 inch dpns for $22.63, shipping inclusive. Compare that with the $4.50-ish I spent on a size 10 circ towards the beginning of the March at a chain store with a 40% off coupon, and…. I have no real complaints.

I also picked up some buttons that were on clearance. No real purpose in mind, but they were $1 and I love wooden buttons.

And, on sale from knitting-warehouse, a cheapy ballwinder, which I am in the midst of a tawdry affair with (sorry, Shawn, but you’ll benefit from it, I swear):

(The cats are so ashamed.)

That’s about a pound of kitchen cotton wound into center pull balls from a giant, and entirely unmanageable, log of yarn. In about 10 minutes.

I did buy yarn — a ball of wool for the Pi that is still in need of yet more wool, and a new ball of sock yarn when I finished up my Cherry Tree Hill. This is Colinette Jitterbug in Castagna purchased at Needles & Knobs in St. Pete.

It’s sitting in my stash for now. But not for long.

Leave a Reply

