Are you a good sock or a bad sock?

March 13, 2008

The Stash Knit Down challenge for the month is to knit up sock stash. I was really excited about it, and swooped through my first pair really quickly.

But I’m working on a sock right now that I’m hating. I don’t know if it’s the yarn, or the color, or the pattern, or that they’re charted, or something else. But normally I get through a pair of socks in a few days to a week. I’m still on the first sock of this pair, not even to the toe, and I started it on the 5th. And they’re footlets. My last pair of footlets took 3 days.

The last socks were wonderful, though. Really fun to knit once I got a hang of the lace repeats, and beautiful. The yarn was perfect. I love them. I wouldn’t mind knitting more.

Pattern: Pumpkin Vine Socks by f. pea
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino

I shortened the leg a bit, afraid they wouldn’t go over my calves. If I knit them again, I’ll probably go smaller needles or smaller size and do the full leg length. They’re a lot stretchier than I expected.

I suppose the plus side of trying to get through a bad pair of socks, is that while stalling, rather than start other projects, I tend to learn stuff.

Like provisional cast on.

And Intarsia.

I always thought I’d do Fair Isle first, but apparently not. Necessity, and all that… I’m using up a bunch of cotton scraps for a snuggle.

I’ve also gotten a lot of kitchen knits done, but no pictures, yet. I’m waiting for the “set” to be finished.

Time to see if I can get to the toe without falling asleep. Hopefully the second sock is less obnoxious, somehow.

2 Responses to “Are you a good sock or a bad sock?”


  1. […] been making snuggles. I’ve got two Bun/Kitten ones done (14×14), including the intarsia […]


  2. […] 8, 2008 Okie, so the March SKD Challenge went… so-so. I knit through half my sock yarn stash rather than all of it, and started […]


Leave a Reply

