Valentine’s Day+

February 21, 2008

I spent much of Valentine’s week working on a pair of house socks for Shawn. I’m starting to think Knitpicks’ Onyx Heather is just unphotographable by my camera as an FO. Or it could just be that Shawn is never here in the daytime and our lighting at night is insanely poor. I was hoping to get a better picture before posting. Right. Anyway, socks:

They came out a tiny bit too big, mostly around the ankles, but not uncomfortably so, and I think on soaking they’ll get a bit smaller? They’re standard k2p2 rib, on size 5 & 6 needles with Wool of the Andes. It was my first magic loop project and honestly, I don’t like it for socks at all. I just enjoy double points for some reason. But they’ll keep my love’s feet warm, which was all I really wanted.

In return I got the Lace & Eyelets Harmony Guide. Swatching soon! I think I’m going to make a scarf of Maizy, since using it for socks got such bad reviews on Rav, probably in a stitch pattern from the book. I’ll need some smaller non-dpn needles, maybe. We’ll see how it takes to 5’s, but I have a feeling they’re going to be much to big, even for lace.

I also (maybe) finished the first Pi. I’m hand-felting (apartment dweller + control freak). I did a first felting Tuesday, and left it to dry overnight, but when I got up it was suddenly really obvious to me that it was not felted enough. So I did some more scrubbing/shocking and re-blocked this morning. Could be I think the same when I wake up tomorrow.

I started the second Pi, this time on size 13s and double stranded. It was my first double stranding. And it was going along wonderfully until I ran out of yarn. So, for now it’s all bagged up waiting for more. But I swear I would’ve finished the thing in one afternoon and evening had I not run out. That makes me want to make tons. Especially since it was so much easier just using one needle, magic looping until the circumference was large enough to use the circulars traditionally.

For now, I’m working on the apron when there’s light (it being black and all) and a little felted sock knitting bag in a bright Cascade 220 when there’s not. The Cascade is really nice to work with so far.

And I finally found the pattern to go with my Cherry Tree Hill: Pumpkin Vine Socks. I’ve poured over dozens of patterns, in my queue and not, and wasn’t happy with any of them. Then I came across that one earlier tonight and just went WANT. So I’ll probably cast those on sometime this week.

In (kinda) non-knitting news we put in an offer for a house on Tuesday.

It’s perfect. If we don’t get it, I’ll be heartbroken. But if we do, it means I will have little-to-no monies for yarn for quite a while probably. Which is making me insanely glad that I spent so much when Yarn Gallery was having their sale. But I do want to keep a better handle on it, so March 1st or near there I’m going to start tallying what I’ve spent on knitting and current stash yardage. At some point I think I’d like to have more or less no stash. Just, maybe, a few odd balls of things I love for inspiration. But nothing without a purpose. I was never much of a rabid consumer until knitting came along, and the need I have to buy yarn is rather shocking and disturbing to me. Though, I do have to say, it’s not like most things where I really want it, and then I buy it, and become ambivalent or entirely bored of it once I have it — I love my yarn. Every skein. Well, except the Lion Brand Homespun. It likes to eat my hands. I love all of my accessories, too. And I use all of it, and none of it isn’t worth the price when I have the money to spend on it.

But I think I have enough now. I really think the stash I currently have will get me through several months, if not most of the year, excluding sock yarn. So my goal is to buy sock yarn when I don’t have any (and can afford it without credit card involvement), and lace-weight if I have a project in mind, and only for that project, until it’s complete. I don’t see myself buying more than one of those, and nothing else until I either have the opportunity to get to a major yarn festival of some sort or until my birthday (in other words, next mid-late autumn), unless I need something for a WIP (like the second Pi needing another ball or two of Lion Wool) or am making something for Etsy. Tools on an as-needed basis more or less, or way-on-sale if I happen to catch a ball winder in such a state. By then I should be through most, if not all of what I have, and have a better idea of where I want to go from there. No stash? Minimal stash? Giant stash to get me through the winter?

Or maybe we’ll play the lotto and win and I can opt for an entire indoor pool of stash to swim in. Pool party, anyone?

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day+”

  1. Casey Says:

    If you have a yarn-pool-party, I will be RIGHT OVER. Heh.

    I had kinda resolved to knit from my stash this year, which is pretty substantial – or, at least, substantial enough to fuel an awful lot of knitting, definitely more than I can knit in a year’s time. And then I went on vacation and bought yarn. SIGH. But man, it’s delicious yarn. And I think… well, crap… I don’t drink, I don’t smoke, I don’t gamble, I don’t collect anything… is a few skeins of yarn now and then really such a vice? Heh. I’m bad.

  2. ambertides Says:

    Vacation yarn so doesn’t count! But I say if you have the money and space, don’t worry about it. Enjoy your yarn purchases!

    Your loot was incredible. 🙂


Leave a Reply

