Foody Friday

January 30, 2008

Okay, so it’s not Friday, but this post was meant for last Friday before the day got away from me, and we’ve been out of town since. A long knitting post to follow sometime today or tomorrow.

I did a lot of cooking last week. A lot. Mostly on Tuesday. After a night of insomnia. Manic much?

Our local co-op usually has really cheap bunches of a-bit-too-ripe organic bananas. But usually there are maybe 2 or 3 or 4 in a pack, and usually just one or two packs. When we went on Sunday they had a five pound pack. For less than $1.50. See?

What does that mean? Banana bread! I used way more than a cup of bananas, so I used a half cup milk instead of ¾ cup. Normally, I’d have used less, but I traded half the white flour (with germ) for whole wheat flour, which usually needs a little help in the moisture department. I usually use walnuts, but all I could find in the bulk bins was pecans (as walnuts are out of season), which work just as well for me.

All in all it turned out wonderful. I’m still getting that line of overdoneness on everything I make in that loaf pan, which is frustrating. I’d consider it time for a new loaf pan, except I’m trying to not buy anything except yarn until we figure out our housing situation. The less stuff to move, the better.

Okay so five pounds is too much for banana bread, so I ate a couple that really weren’t too ripe, and the rest went in a ziploc and into the freezer for smoothies.

Next up was pizza dough. Which came out funky for some reason. Perfectly edible, even yummy, but still, more dense than normal. Maybe because the flour had wheat germ in it? Or maybe because I had to skimp out on a bit of the yeast.

Meanwhile, I also made potato soup, and our creamy penne. Oh, and ranch, of course. I’d meant to make it two weeks ago, as we’d run out of the last time I made it by then, but totally forgot to buy buttermilk somehow, so we just used prepackaged the past two weeks.

I really like getting a lot of cooking done at once. I know I have nutritious things to eat that aren’t any real work once they’re made. And I only have to clean up the work areas once. And less cleaning means more knitting!

Anyway, Wednesday I redid the pretzels again using this recipe. The one — one — I rolled to the proper size came out perfect. The others looked too small so I didn’t roll them as thin, forgetting how much they puff up in the boiling, and they turned out gooey in the end. Yummy, but still not perfect. I was so afraid when I took them out of the oven that they were burned, but the color difference was just the whole wheat flour (50/50 mix with all-purpose, decreasing flour by .25 cups). So hopefully using that recipe with the flour adjustments and rolling them out to the right size will be the key and I can move on to biscuits.

I may have cooked something Thursday but if I did I completely don’t remember. And Friday until now we’ve been on the road…. where we ate a lot of yummies, but I didn’t make a bit of it.

Leave a Reply

