What to do with all this yarn?

January 2, 2008

I’ve given up the Cherie. I keep making bits of progress on the miles and miles of ribbing here and there but the yarn and the project just don’t mix. It’s so heavy at this point it feels like I’m knitting chainmail and I’ve still got yet more ribbing, the bodice and sleeves to go. I have a pretty good idea what all that weight is going to do to the drape of the thing, much less my desire to wear something that weighs a gazillion pounds. If I want weights for walking, I’ll buy them, thanks.

Soooooooooo… I have… over 1000 yards of a green cotton/modal yarn (or will once I frog the half that’s been used), that feels like butter, but fuzzes like all get out and is heavy as hell.

I had originally pondered the Corset Tank which is gorgeous but maybe too difficult and as likely to show off my flaws as my assets. And I kinda can’t help but picture in pink, not green.

So I went through my queue and saw The Hemlock Ring Blanket. I need a couch blankie, that one is beautiful, and I love cotton blankets. But the green goes with nothing, and I think that sort of blanket really needs something more dignified than the cheery green. Not to mention that I’m cringing at the thought of the fuzz all over the place.

And then I started flipping through the IKs I bought the other day, and found the Ribs and Lace Tank by Jodi Green, which, I have to say, looks pretty ideal for both the yarn and my body. I’m really excited, actually. The pattern doesn’t go up to my size, so it’ll involve a bit of math, but that doesn’t really bother me.

I haven’t cast on yet. I’m working on some stuff for Shawn first. But hopefully this project will work and I won’t have to just cry and rip out another half-done (or more) project and use the yarn for charity or gifts.

2 Responses to “What to do with all this yarn?”

  1. Casey Says:

    I don’t have any suggestions for the yarn, but I sure am glad you mentioned how much the Shine fuzzes. I thought about it for a warm-weather sweater, but I think I’ll go for a different yarn now!

  2. ambertides Says:

    Yeah, I dunno if all the colors are that bad, but I had a “cherie knitting tank top” specifically set aside to wear over whatever I was wearing so I wouldn’t get fuzz all over myself while knitting. It really is the softest thing ever, but the compromise for cheap modal+pima is the fuzzing, I guess.


Leave a Reply

