A zillion WIPs, 1 FO

December 3, 2007

I’m still working on the Cherie… here and there. Plugging away at the 2×2 ribbing for miles. I’m waiting for the weather to turn cooler again, honestly, before refocusing, as it’s so big and heavy at this point (3x, and longer than the pattern calls for), that the Florida heat is making it unpleasant to work on. Not to mention, I’m a bit sick and feverish, so trying to stay as cool as possible. Maybe I’ll see if I can scrounge up movie money for Wednesday (free popcorn day for AMC/MovieWatcher) and toss it in a canvas bag to work on in the theater. Shame The Golden Compass isn’t out until Friday — it’s one of those rare movies that we both really want to see.

So in the meantime, I’ve finished the Marsan Watchcap for Shawn, and started on a Greenery Hat for him. The Marsan came out alright, just short for Shawn’s head despite doing it on a needle size up and in the large. After blocking it fit around okay, but even after reblocking just the ribbing, it’s still a lot shorter than it should be for a head like his. The Greenery Hat I’m doubling, and pondering tripling, the ribbing. I used a couple needle sizes up, and took the pattern one repeat down, which means one repeat of the 2×2 rib is actually a 3×2. I’m not sure how I feel about it, really. I’m pondering ripping it and doing another Marsan with a longer rib. I’d also started a scarf for him, half in each color, but he sat on the stupid thing and pulled it off the needles, so I’ll be starting over and trying something else there.

The stole I started I had to put aside until I can get my hands on some better needles for knitting lace than some blunt Clovers.

And today I’m working on… SOCKS! Socks scare me, for no real reason, as while my first sock came out a horror, the second one came out okay. I love working on DPNs, so what my problem is, I can’t tell you. I’m only on row 8 of the first, but so far things are fine. If they come out well enough they’ll be a pressie for my aunt. If not, I don’t know what I’ll do with them cause I’m entirely sure they’re not going to fit around my giganto ankles. But yay for learning cable cast on to get these started.

Leave a Reply

